top of page
Group 1.webp

选择监护人指南

IMG_2926_edited_edited_edited.png

关于公司

Wood Legal Group, LLP 为我们的客户提供优质、个性化的遗产规划。无论您需要遗产规划、信托管理、遗嘱认证诉讼的律师还是经过认证的财务规划专业人士,我们的合格个人和推荐合作伙伴团队都将在这里为您和您的亲人提供帮助。  _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

Yellow Vest

当你第一次抱起你的新生儿时,你会本能地保护他们免受伤害,像处理最薄的瓷器一样处理他们脆弱的身体。在从医院回家的路上,在检查安全带九到十次之后,你的车速远低于限速。在最初的几周里,你比他们度过了更多的不眠之夜——想知道他们的未来,担心他们的安全。当您想象他们上学的第一天、大学毕业典礼和婚礼当天,您会想象自己就在他们身边,洋溢着自豪。但是,如果悲剧发生了,您在孩子达到这些里程碑之前就被带走了怎么办? 

Newborn

父母要考虑这几乎是不可理解的,但爱和保护你的家人的一部分是为事件的发展提供与你想象的不同的可能性。没有您或您的伴侣,您的孩子会发生什么的问题将得到一种或另一种方式的回答。您对如何回答该问题的控制程度完全取决于您。如果没有充分的规划,您的家庭未来将由司法系统决定。制定遗产计划对任何人来说都是有意义的,无论他们的财务或个人状况如何,但对于有小孩的家庭来说,起草一份遗产计划是绝对必要的。   

Upcoming Events

  • Webinar: 5 Costly Mistakes Parents Make... Leaving Their Children at Risk!
    Webinar: 5 Costly Mistakes Parents Make... Leaving Their Children at Risk!
    多個日期
    6月19日周三
    Webinar
    2024年6月19日 12:30 – GMT-7 14:00
    Webinar
    2024年6月19日 12:30 – GMT-7 14:00
    Webinar
  • 网络研讨会:遗嘱、信托和世代财富规划
    网络研讨会:遗嘱、信托和世代财富规划
    多個日期
    6月25日周二
    网络研讨会
    2024年6月25日 17:30 – GMT-7 19:00
    网络研讨会
    2024年6月25日 17:30 – GMT-7 19:00
    网络研讨会
    遗产规划的一个神话是它只适用于非常年长或非常富有的人。 事实是,每个 18 岁以上的成年人都应该制定遗产计划,以在发生死亡或残疾时保护自己。

如果我没有遗产计划怎么办?

如果您在没有遗产计划的情况下去世,您将在没有遗嘱的情况下去世,这意味着您的遗产将按照预先确定的州指导方针分配,法院将决定谁获得您孩子的监护权以及谁控制您为他们留下的遗产.

您孩子的监护权

甚至没有一份基本的遗嘱,您就无法对谁来监护您的孩子有任何发言权。不了解您意愿的法官将在家庭法庭为他们指定一名监护人。最初,法官将任命一名临时监护人,并可能在数月后举行全面听证会,将最终监护权和监护权授予法院认为最有能力的人。  

 

潜在地,您的家人和朋友最终可能会因监护安排而发生争执,从而在未来几年内导致您所爱的人之间的情感裂痕。或者,更糟糕的是,您的孩子可能会暂时或永久地被寄养。  

 

如果你有指定监护人在您的生前信托的遗嘱或倾倒遗嘱中,法官会考虑您指定的人并且很可能将监护权授予该人,除非该人被认为不适合照顾和支持您的孩子。_cc781905- 5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

选择监护人

未成年子女的监护人由最后一位去世的父母在遗嘱中“提名”。监护人通常是“提名”而不是任命,因为法院会优先考虑提名但不受其约束。如果法院确定其他选择会更好地满足儿童的最大利益,则他们无需听取您的建议。但是,虽然指定监护人不是保证,但它确实允许您向法院提供指导,法院将使用这些指导来做出决定。如果所有其他条件相同,法院会听取您的建议。 

为您的孩子提名监护人是遗产规划过程中最重要的部分,而且在许多情况下也是最具挑战性的部分。以下是您在选择监护人时应考虑的一些因素:

 

年龄

您需要考虑孩子的年龄和潜在监护人的年龄。如果您的孩子还小,您需要选择能够长期在情感和身体上照顾他们的人。虽然祖父母可能拥有最好的情感联系,但他们可能无法做出将孩子抚养成人所需的那种承诺。另一方面,也可以选择一个年纪太小,无法承担如此大责任的监护人。因此,重要的是要考虑监护人候选人的年龄和情感成熟度。  

 

育儿方式、宗教和价值观

每个家长对纪律、教育甚至宵禁都有不同的看法。因此,在选择监护人时考虑这些因素至关重要。问问自己在价值观和宗教方面对你最重要的是什么,然后评估你心目中的监护人是否同意这些观点。如果您不确定,请询问他们。你可能会对他们的回答感到惊讶。

 

人生阶段

想想你潜在的监护人所处的生活阶段。他们是已婚还是单身?他们有可能结婚或离婚吗?他们有自己的孩子吗?如果有,你的孩子可能适合吗?如果他们现在单身,未来的配偶会支持他们的监护吗?他们的职业生涯呢?他们是与工作结婚,还是接近退休?所有这些因素都会对您孩子的生活产生巨大影响,因此请花点时间谨慎选择。  

地点

有时我们低估了一个地点对我们日常生活的影响。但是,孩子在哪里长大对他们以后成为的人有着巨大的影响。在考虑潜在监护人的位置时,社区、学校系统和附近的亲戚似乎是显而易见的变量。但是气候等不太明显的因素呢?从温暖的气候转移到寒冷的气候,或者反之亦然,对孩子来说可能是一个很大的调整。权衡位置频繁变化的可能性也很重要。监护人会不会有经常性的搬家或工作变动?在某些情况下,这是无法预测的,但仍然有助于考虑。  

 

关系

您选择的监护人不一定是血亲,但最好是他们至少对您的孩子很熟悉。如果您从未见过此人与您的孩子互动,您怎么知道此人将与您的孩子扮演什么样的父母角色?如果监护人和您的孩子之间已经有了良好的关系,他们会更容易悲伤和调整。显然,在极少数情况下,有必要选择一个远离家人的人。此选项应仅作为最后手段行使。重要的是要注意,即使您的孩子与一位阿姨、叔叔或朋友特别亲近,请记住,这个人可能会扮演父母的角色,而不是最好的朋友。因此,请务必牢记所有其他注意事项。  

 

愿意

在您做出决定之前,请与您的所有监护人候选人交谈。毕竟,必须承担监护是一项改变生活的责任,不能掉以轻心。尽管实际上您选择的监护人不太可能需要履行该角色,但在命名他们之前征得他们的同意很重要。  

财务状况和责任

遗产规划过程的一个重要部分是确保为您所爱的人提供经济支持。问问自己,您选择的监护人是否经济稳定,足以养家糊口。他们在金钱方面有问题吗?他们的消费习惯是什么?如果您对他们管理财务的能力有疑问,但您确信他们会成为您孩子的最佳监护人,您可能需要考虑与合格的律师讨论可以使这更容易的信托条款。  

 

除了与您选择的监护人讨论您的意愿外,建议您和您的伴侣为您的孩子写意向书。这些字母可能会有很大差异,但大多数人都会利用这个机会来描述他们对孩子的期望和希望。与口头讨论相比,一封信可以更舒适地表达这些愿望,并且它也可以作为永久记录。建议个人随着情况的发展每年或每两年更新一次意向书。  

无论您有几个监护人还是只有一个监护人,您都必须权衡每一个变量,以确定他或她是否是照顾您最珍贵的宝藏的合适人选:您的孩子。 

Kid Playing with Wooden Toys

残疾计划和授权书

除了为您的孩子指定监护人外,每位家长都需要一份授权书,以授权某人在您因意外事故或疾病而丧失行为能力时做出财务决定。任命一个值得信赖的人来做出这些财务决定有助于确保您的配偶和孩子在您丧失工作能力期间的财务稳定性。授权书和监护人的提名允许您选择的人以充满爱心和细心的方式照顾您的未成年子女,而不是作为冷酷无情的法庭官僚机构的对象。在执行财务授权书时,您需要与您的遗产规划律师讨论医疗保健指令和健康保险流通与责任法案 (HIPAA) 授权表的实施。医疗保健指令将允许您选择代理人为您做出医疗保健决定(如果您自己无法这样做),并说明您对生命维持或侵入性医疗类型的愿望做和不想管理。 HIPAA 授权表将允许您选择的个人访问您的医疗记录并授权医生向他们发布有关您当前医疗状况的信息。 

前方的路

现在应该清楚一件事;当我们没有为每一个突发事件做计划时,我们对我们的家庭造成了极大的伤害。这就是为什么在您的规划过程中,关键的第一步应该是咨询一位专注于遗产规划实践的律师。花时间制定周到、详细和持久的遗产计划,将确保您、您的配偶和您的孩子在发生悲剧时得到保障。考虑到我们自己的死亡似乎是一项可怕的义务,尤其是对于年幼孩子的父母来说,然而,现在接受这种情感挑战将在未来安心地获得成倍的回报。理想情况下,您将永远在身边为您的家人提供食物,并见证您孩子生命中那些美好的里程碑。但与此同时,您会感到欣慰的是,无论未来发生什么,您所爱的人都会得到满足。有关当前的遗产税、赠与税和所得税数据,请访问我们的网站 woodlegalgroup.com 或致电 (626) 898-9195.  联系我们的办公室

bottom of page

GUIDE TO CHOOSING A GUARDIAN

IMG_2926_edited_edited_edited.png

ABOUT THE FIRM

Wood Legal Group, LLP provides quality, personalized estate planning for our clients. Whether you need an attorney for Estate Planning, Trust Administration, Probate Litigation or a Certified Financial Planning Professional, our team of qualified individuals and referral partners, are here to help you and your loved ones.   

Yellow Vest

When you hold your newborn child for the first time, you instinctively protect them from harm, handling their fragile frame as if it were made of the thinnest porcelain. On the trip home from the hospital, after inspecting the seatbelt nine or 10 times, you drive well below the speed limit. During the first few weeks you spend more sleepless nights than they do—wondering about their future and worrying about their safety. When you imagine their first day of school, college graduation, and wedding day, you picture yourself right beside them, beaming with pride. But what if tragedy strikes and you are taken from your children before they reach these milestones? 

Newborn

It’s nearly incomprehensible for a parent to consider, but part of loving and protecting your family is providing for the possibility of events unfolding differently than you’ve envisioned. The question of what will happen to your children without you or your partner will be answered one way or another. The amount of control you have over how that question is answered is entirely up to you. Without sufficient planning, your family’s future will be decided by the judicial system. Setting up an estate plan makes sense for any individual, no matter their financial or personal situation, but for families with young children, drafting an estate plan is absolutely essential.   

WHAT IF I DON’T HAVE AN ESTATE PLAN?

If you pass away without an estate plan, you die intestate, which means that your estate will be distributed by predetermined state guidelines, and the courts get to decide who is awarded custody of your children and who controls the inheritance you’ve left for them.

CUSTODY OF YOUR CHILDREN

Without even a basic Will, you won’t have any say about who assumes custody of your children. A judge who has no knowledge of your wishes will appoint a guardian for them in family court. Initially, the judge will appoint a temporary guardian, with a full hearing being held possibly months later to award final custody and guardianship to the person the court deems to be the most capable.  

 

Potentially, your family and friends could end up battling over custody arrangements, causing emotional rifts among your loved ones for years to come. Or, worse yet, your children could temporarily or permanently be placed in foster care.  

 

If you had nominated a guardian in a Will or the Pour-Over Will of your Living Trust, the judge would have taken into consideration the person you named and most likely awarded custody to that individual, unless that person were deemed unfit to care for and support your children. 

CHOOSING A GUARDIAN

Guardians of minor children are “nominated” in the Will by the last parent to die. Guardians are typically “nominated” rather than appointed because the courts will give preference to the nomination but are not bound by it. If a court determines that the best interest of the child would be better served by another choice, they need not heed your suggestion. However, while the nomination of a guardian is not a guarantee, it does allow you to give the court guidance, which it will use to make its determination. If all other things are equal, the court will heed your advice. 

Nominating a guardian for your children is the most important – and, in many cases, the most challenging – part of the estate planning process. Here are some factors that you should consider when choosing a guardian:

 

AGE

You need to consider both the age of your children and the age of the potential guardian. If your kids are young, you need to select someone who will be emotionally and physically able to care for them in the long-term. While a grandparent may have the best emotional connection, they may not be able to make the kind of commitment necessary to raise your children to adulthood. On the other hand, it’s also possible to choose a guardian that’s too young to handle such a large responsibility. Therefore, it’s important to consider both the age and emotional maturity of your guardian candidates.  

 

PARENTING STYLE, RELIGION, AND VALUES

Every parent has differing opinions on discipline, education, and even curfew. Therefore, it’s vital that you take these things into consideration when choosing a guardian. Ask yourself what’s most important to you in terms of values and religion, and then assess whether the guardian you have in mind shares those views. If you’re unsure, ask them. You might be surprised by their answers.

 

STAGE OF LIFE

Think about the stages of life your potential guardians are in. Are they married or single? Are they likely to get married or divorced? Do they have their own children, and if so, are yours likely to fit in? If they are single now, is a future spouse going to be supportive of their guardianship? What about their career? Are they married to their job, or close to retirement? All of these factors will have a tremendous impact on your children’s lives, so take your time and choose carefully.  

LOCATION

Sometimes we underestimate the effect of a location on our everyday lives. But, where a child grows up has an enormous influence on the person they become later in life. Things like neighborhoods, school systems, and nearby relatives seem like obvious variables when thinking about the location of a potential guardian. But what about less obvious factors like climate? Moving from a warm climate to a cold one, or vice-versa, can be a big adjustment for a child. It is also important to weigh the likelihood of frequent changes in location. Will the guardian have recurrent moves or job changes? In some cases, this is impossible to predict, but nevertheless helpful to consider.  

 

RELATIONSHIP

It’s not necessary for your chosen guardian to be a blood relative, but it’s best if they are at least familiar to your children. If you have never seen this person interact with your kids, how will you know what kind of parental role this person would play with your kids? It would be much easier for both the guardian and your children to grieve and adjust if they already had a good relationship with each other. Obviously, in rare cases, it is necessary to choose a person who is distant from your family. This option should be exercised only as a last resort. It’s important to note that even if your children are particularly close to one aunt, uncle, or friend, remember that this person would potentially fill the role of parent, not best friend. So be sure to keep all of the other considerations in mind as well.  

 

WILLINGNESS

Speak to all of your guardian candidates before you make a decision. After all, having to assume a guardianship is a life-changing responsibility, and not to be undertaken lightly. Although, in reality, it’s unlikely that your chosen guardian will need to fulfill that role, it’s important to secure their consent before naming them.  

FINANCIAL POSITION AND RESPONSIBILITY

An important part of the estate planning process is making sure that your loved ones are provided for financially. Ask yourself whether your chosen guardian is financially stable enough to raise a family. Do they have problems hanging on to money? What are their spending habits? If you have doubts about their abilities to manage finances, but you’re convinced that they would make the best guardian for your children, you may want to consider talking to a qualified attorney about Trust provisions that can make this easier.  

 

In addition to discussing your wishes with your chosen guardian, it is recommended that you and your partner write letters of intent for your children. These letters can vary significantly, but most people use the opportunity to describe their expectations and hopes for their kids. A letter can be a much more comfortable format for expressing these desires than a verbal discussion, and it also serves as a permanent record. It is recommended that individuals update their letters of intent yearly or bi-yearly as their circumstances evolve.  

Whether you have several guardians in mind or just one, it’s vital that you weigh each and every variable to determine if he or she is the right person to care for your most valued treasures: your children. 

Kid Playing with Wooden Toys

DISABILITY PLANNING AND POWERS OF ATTORNEY

In addition to naming a guardian for your children, every parent needs a Power of Attorney to authorize someone to make financial decisions in the event you become incapacitated by an unexpected accident or illness. The appointment of a trusted individual to make these financial decisions helps ensure financial stability for your spouse and your children during your incapacity. The Power of Attorney and nomination of a guardian allow someone you have chosen to care for your minor children in a loving and attentive manner, rather than as the subject of a cold impersonal court bureaucracy. When executing a financial Power of Attorney, you will want to discuss the implementation of a Health Care Directive and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Authorization Form with your estate planning attorney. A Health Care Directive will allow you to select an agent to make health care decisions for you, in the event that you are unable to do so for yourself, and to state your wishes for the types of life-sustaining or invasive medical treatments that you do and do not want administered. A HIPAA Authorization Form will allow the individuals you select to have access to your medical records and authorize doctors to release information to them about your current medical status. 

THE ROAD AHEAD

One thing should be clear by now; we do our families a great disservice when we fail to plan for every contingency. That’s why a critical first step in your planning process should be a consultation with an attorney who focuses their practice in estate planning. Taking the time to form a thoughtful, detailed, and durable estate plan will ensure that you, your spouse and your children are provided for in the event of a tragedy. Considering our own mortality may seem like a frightening obligation, especially for parents of younger children, however, undertaking this emotional challenge now will pay off exponentially in peace of mind in the future. Ideally, you will always be around to provide for your family and witness those wonderful milestones in your children’s lives. But at the same time, you will take comfort in knowing that your loved ones will be provided for, no matter what lies ahead. For current estate tax, gift tax, & income tax figures, please visit our website at woodlegalgroup.com or contact our office at (626) 898-9195.